Beauty and porridge

“And so, life in the Shire goes on much as it has this past age. Full of its own comings and goings, whith change coming slowly, if it comes at all”

Although I have only been here for two days, it seems to me that a certain tranquility has overtaken the residents of Lapinjärvi educational centre. The day passes slowly, mostly by dragging your feet from one end of the old rustic farmyard to the other, from one ashtray to the next.

I awoke early yesterday and had all the time in the world to shower and eat a big bowl of porridge before launching into my first lecture of the day, where the lecturer Staffan spent most of the time talking about rock bands and asking us whether we played in bands or not. I recieved a coffee ticket by knowing that Showdown is the most famous band of my childhood home Kimito Island.

In two days I cannot say I have learned anything new, but people are nice and the surroundings are beautiful. I suppose this must seem like a holiday destination during the summer, but even in autumn/winter Lapinjärvi has a beauty of its own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Misc diary entries, Non-military service, Out there

Leave a Reply

